Skip to content
Skip to main site content Extreme Logo


March 2, 2023

Extreme’s new album Six is a homage to Van Halen: “I felt some responsibility to keep guitar playing alive”


Extreme have announced their sixth album Six, which guitarist Nuno Bettencourt says is a homage to the “fire” of Eddie Van Halen.

The album announcement was accompanied by the release of its lead single Rise, which highlight’s Bettencourt’s message with a near-minute-long solo.

In a statement to Guitar World, Bettencourt explained how the late guitar great inspired the record: “When Eddie Van Halen passed, it really hit me. I’m not going to be the one who will take the throne, but I felt some responsibility to keep guitar playing alive. So, you hear a lot of fire on the record.”

Extreme’s first record since 2008’s Saudades de Rock is set to be released this 9 June via earMUSIC, and is now available for pre-order. The album will be available via streaming services, CD and double vinyl.

Vocalist and producer Gary Cherone also told the outlet that Six includes some of these songs are among the best [Extreme have] written,” adding, “We’re not in competition with anybody else, but we strive to outdo ourselves. There are some moments on this album where we did… We feel like we have something to prove when we get on stage or in the studio.”

The tracklist for Six is:

  1. Rise
  2. #Rebel
  3. Banshee
  4. Other Side Of The Rainbow
  5. Small Town Beautiful
  6. The Mask
  7. Thicker Than Blood
  8. Save Me
  9. Hurricane
  10. X Out
  11. Beautiful Girls
  12. Here’s To The Losers